COMPETITION

 

Robotics Club

Sponsor: Matt Walter & Matt Mulholland, mwalter@zcs.k12.in.us

The Zionsville Robotics Club fields many teams of 4-5 students who design, build, program, and refine a robot to compete in the Vex Robotics High School Competition Series.  See https://www.vexrobotics.com/v5/competition/vrc-current-game for more details!

 

Speech Team

Sponsor: Hoppes, choppes@zcs.k12.in.us

This is a competitive academic team. We have individual and partner speech categories ranging from theatrical pursuits (monologuing, drama, humor, original scripts, poetry) to political and discussion categories (extemporaneous speaking, international policy, round table debates). We also have a category involving radio, journalism, and editorial reporting.

 

Mock Trial

Sponsor: Justin Coffey, jcoffey@zcs.k12.in.us

Mock Trial introduces Indiana students to our legal system and the judicial branch of government. Through Indiana Mock Trial, students will get a deeper understanding and appreciation of the American legal system.   Taking on the roles of attorneys and witnesses, students will take an in-depth, hands-on learning and appreciation of our society’s approach to dispute resolution and justice. Students take case background information and witness statements and apply it to the law. They craft arguments, support it through testimony and physical evidence, and present it to a panel of attorneys and judges who evaluate their arguments and presentations.

 

Debate Team

Sponsor: Justin Coffey, jcoffey@zcs.k12.in.us

Debate is a club that meets August-February and competes in debate competitions that range in style from Lincoln Douglas, to Congress, to Public Forum and beyond. Debate team members practice their debate skills weekly and work with teammates to hone in on their skills and create meaningful and powerful arguments to use in competitions. Debate team has monthly competitions culminating with a state tournament and all students participating in debate learn how to appropriately communicate with opponents, how to keep calm in the face of an intense debate, and how to encourage teammates.

 

Business Professionals of America (BPA)

Sponsor: Taundra Miles-Cranor and Rita Lickliter, tmilescranor@zcs.k12.in.us; rlickliter@zcs.k12.in.us

BPA is an organization that supports business and information technology by offering co-curricular exercises based on national standards.   Business Professionals of America has the ability to enhance student participation in professional, civic, service and social endeavors. Members participate in these activities to accomplish its goals of self-improvement, leadership development, professionalism, community service, career development, public relations, student cooperation and safety and health.

 

Ethics Bowl

Sponsor: Danielle Wilson, dwilson@zcs.k12.in.us

Ethics Bowl is a debate-style competition held at DePauw University in February where students discuss case studies involving ethical dilemmas.

Math Competition Club

 

Sponsor: Dwight Moser, dmoser@zcs.k12.in.us

This is an extension of Mu Alpha Theta.  We participate in different math compeitions that are held at universities aroudn the state.

Quiz Bowl

 

Sponsor: Mr. Michael Fowler, mfowler@zcs.k12.in.us

Quiz Bowl is a Jeopardy type game of high-speed, competitive question answering.  Question topics include academics, music, sports, art and current events.  We compete with other schools at the local, state and National level with varsity and junior varsity teams.  Anyone is welcome to come to Quiz Bowl practice on Wednesdays and Thursdays after school in Mr. Fowler's Room 101.  We are one of only a handful of schools that have won the National Academic Championship twice, most recently in 2017.  In 2020 our competitions with other schools will be virtual.

Model United Nations

 

Sponsor: Paul Magoni, pmagoni@zcs.k12.in.us

The model UN has been proven-effective.  Students role-play various countries in the world.  They learn about the history, politics, and foreign policies of several countries and begin to understand the importance of the United Nations in the world today.  Students become familiar with several international problems or issues and experience the give and take of diplomacy as they attempt to pass resolutions in their councils.

SB_New_White.png

© 2020 by STAR Bank Performing Arts Center

  • Instagram
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • YouTube